Valentines Day

I hope that you all had a happy and safe Valentines day! We had a great one here.

As many of you know, Deadpool was released this past weekend. Some of us have waited a looooong time to see this movie. And we made plans to see it on Valentines Day. Without kids. I knew that from reading the comic books that there was no way this movie was going to be safe for kids, so taking them was never an option for us.

12494930_10154025504599756_7145195202380730649_n

However, I began to get get a little concerned when for over a week I couldn’t open my fb page without seeing something like this…

 

12715358_1229461593735183_3045992282796707208_n

Where people REALLY planning to take their kids to see this movie? I couldn’t imagine it. But I stopped to think. Deadpool has been making appearances in shows like Ultimate Spiderman, which IS kid appropriate, and the like,for some time now. And the Deadpool in those shows is NOTHING like the Deadpool in the comics. Not even close. He is much toned down and cleaned up. Deadpool is not at all like some of these parents think he is.

So with this warning floating around EVERYWHERE, even posted on the ticket window of the theater I went to see it at, and on the doors to our actual theater room, I was truly astounded when a couple sat down next to me with a little girl who couldn’t have been more than….5. Years. Old. And they stayed the ENTIRE movie. All of it. Now if you have seen it, you know what I mean, if you haven’t……there are things in that movie that little kids don’t need to see and hear. Period. This is a grown up movie.

I wonder if the parents knew who Deadpool is? Have they ever read the comics? I have lots of the comic books and they are strictly off limits to my kids. No excetions. The things we expose our young children affect them. Shape them, and how they see the world. That little girl sat and watched a whole lot of violence, adult humor, and generally not kid friendly stuff. If you are going to take your kids to a movie, do some research. A simple search of a comic book shop, or even Google, should tell you that the merc with a mouth is not a kid friendly thing.

Now, I understand that this is THEIR kid, and they are allowed to raise her as they see fit. I get it. And it’s their business. I just can’t help but wonder why you would let a little girl see all of that.

 

 

All in all..for adults like me and my hubby…the movie was AWESOME. Would I take ANY of my kids to see it? No way. Seriously..research what you are taking your kids to see.

That’s all I really want to say…

pool

Leave a Reply

