Family Safety Day 2016

We took our kids to my husbands Family Safety day this weekend. Always a good time, my kids enjoy hanging out with the people that my husband works with. It doesn’t hurt that they have food and bounce houses. And they cut up a car. And have Life Flight land. AND let them get in the helicopter. Good times. Life flight was an exceptionally good time this year as we got to talk to the medic and the pilot.And find out that birds frequently go through the windshield of helicopters. Who knew. Makes sense, but did YOU ever think of it? Me either.

My son enjoyed watching them cut up a car. Any form of destruction is fun to watch when your an 8 year old boy. My girls found it a little dull. It’s not as brutal and violent as you think. It’s slow. And methodical. And takes foooorever. But it’s safer. Annd boring. But they did learn a lot and asked some questions.

(As I am typing this, my son says, “Was family safety day a success?” Me, “I guess so.” Him,”Good. I don’t want it to be a failure.” Alrighty then…..)

The biggest event was when my son accompanied me to give blood for the first time. I have wanted to for ages, and just have never had the chance. But when the blood mobile is just sitting there…waiting for you..you really kinda have no excuses. (side not: when he first saw it, he asked if it was a food truck.I told him only if he was a vampire. Y’all, I can’t make this up!) So we finally head over, cause, you can’t ignore the blood wagon. He was very well behaved while I did paper work, and they let him sit next to me while they did the procedure. And he and the lady taking blood had a conversation about what was going on, and why it is important to give blood. And how few people do give. He didn’t freak out when they put the needle in, or at the sight of the blood bag. He was a trooper. And he got a snack, so he really felt like a winner. When they were done, he even got me a snack. Cause he is a gentleman.

The funny thing was, I almost didn’t do it. I almost walked away. Cause I was afraid. But when my son was with me,and I had always told them that this was important, it was to hard to walk away. I felt like I would be letting him down, and that he would think that someone else would just do it. And I am glad that I didn’t. Because now he is waiting to be 16 so he can donate. Because he understands that it is important. And he has seen someone he loves give. I am so happy that we didn’t walk away. The things we do are important, and it’s worth letting our kids see. I know some people would think it was weird to take a child when you give blood, but if they don’t see us do these things, and if we don’t take the time to teach them about it, who will they see?

Leave a Reply

